Traynor Amp

About 37 years ago I purchased my first guitar amp. I didn’t know much about amps in those days and I don’t recall how I made my decision but I bought a Traynor Bassmaster. It was probably too much for what we did which was mostly play in my friend’s houses at very high volumes. It served me well for a few years but I stopped playing electric and about 15 years later I sold the amp (or maybe permanently lent it) to my friend Scott. Over the years, I had forgotten what happened to the amp but recently I visited Scott (while in NY to see the Allman Brothers – but that’s another story) and found the amp in the basement where I was going to be sleeping. I got to play it a bit and it was not in great shape – there was a lot of static. The tubes probably needed replacement.  

In any case, last week I was reading a book on tube amps. The book, Guitar Amplifier Handbook – Understanding Tube Amplifiers and Getting Great Sounds (Softcover)’ target=_blank>Guitar Amplifier Handbook – Understanding Tube Amplifiers and Getting Great Sounds (Softcover) by Dave Hunter, is very good, but a bit more than I need. It has a lot of technical details about the way tube amps are constructed, how components affect sound and drawings of electrical layouts. I had an eyes glazing over experience for some of this – I always have trouble with electrical layouts.  For those more technically inclined, this stuff is great, for others who are not as interested in knowing all the details of resistors, capacitors, transformers, etc., you can skip these sections and return (as I plan) as I learn more. What the book also has is chapters on what makes an amp sound good, what to look for in an amp and interviews with several boutique amp designers.

Getting back to how this relates to me, there is a chapter on 12 classic amps. It describes why these amps are classic, where they stand in the history of amps and what makes them different. AS one might figure, it covers several Fender and Marshall amps but surprisingly, it uses my old Traynor amp as one of the 12 classic amps. Evidently, its a well made amp that sounds good. I always thought it did but then again, when I was 17, what did I know? Anyway, I have a friend in NY who has a collector’s item that I’d like to get back. Maybe someday.

One Response to “Traynor Amp”

  1. Oh man! Get that amp back! They’re pretty cheap amps, and they don’t have much resale value (around $500), but that is a classic.

Leave a Reply

